Tandoori-style Chicken

Tandoori chicken is named after the oven, a tandoor, in which the meat is cooked.  It is a cylindrical oven made of clay – funnily enough I don’t have one of those in my kitchen!  It can also be cooked on a barbecue although this would be much harder to do with a whole chicken as it’s difficult to ensure it is cooked through.  Also, it was a chilly afternoon in the middle of March, I wasn’t quite feeling brave enough to get the charcoal out…

So I have named this Tandoori-style chicken as I cooked this in our electric oven.  Again, a nice simple and quick method to enable you to cook this as a midweek roast if you wish.  Preheat the oven to 200oC fan.  I mixed together the following ingredients in a bowl:

• Chopped ginger and garlic (about a tbsp. of each)
• 1 tbsp ground coriander
• 1 tbsp garam masala
• ½ tsp turmeric
• Salt, to taste
• 1 chopped dried chilli
• 1 tbsp lemon juice
• 3 tbsp veg oil

I then just smeared this mixture all over the chicken:

DSCN1042

I then roasted this for 1hr10mins, taking it out to baste halfway through.  After which time the chicken was cooked so I let it rest for ten minutes or so before carving.

DSCN1047 (2)

Again I served this with rice and lentil dhal and a dollop of yoghurt.DSCN1054  I also like some chilli pickle with this as it’s a great way for me to have some heat with my dinner without it being too much chilli for my son’s taste buds!

Published by

mr b cooks

I'm a stay at home dad who cooks for his family. I'm passionate about preparing healthy food, that is simple and quick to make. My blog aims to share some of these recipes and ideas with you!

Leave a Reply

