Chicken with Spicy Tomato Sauce

This is a recipe I have borrowed from an excellent blog I follow called Spring Tomorrow.  One of the recipes that caught my eye on there had most of the ingredients that you would associate with an Asian curry but with one exception – it used evaporated milk!  I often use coconut milk when preparing a curry and whilst it is delicious it can be a little too rich and leave you feeling over-full afterwards.

I used chicken thighs as that is what I had in the fridge – the original recipe uses chicken breast. Other than that the only other variation I had was to use parsley as a garnish as our coriander hasn’t grown in the garden yet!  One mistake I made was to add the evaporated milk too early as you might be able to see from the picture that the sauce split slightly (it didn’t affect the taste at all).  It needs to go in at the last minute to prevent this.

Ingredients
One large onion
Three cloves of garlic
Two slices of ginger
One dried chilli
Glug of olive oil
6 chicken thighs
One can (400g) chopped tomatoes
170g can evaporated milk
Salt + Pepper
Fresh parsley

Method

1. Fry the chicken thighs in olive oil on all sides until brown – this took about ten minutes.
2. In a food processor I chopped the onion, garlic, ginger and chilli until it resembled a fine paste. I added this to the frying pan and fried with the chicken for 5 minutes.
3. Add the tomatoes and let it simmer away for 15 minutes until the chicken is cooked through.
4. Turn the heat down low and add the evaporated milk. Stir gently until it is all warmed through and serve immediately.  Garnish with coriander.

DSCN1239

We had this with some plain rice, and it was totally delicious.  Delicately spiced so that you could still taste all the ingredients without any one flavour dominating.  I’d really recommend giving this a go, a great way to introduce kids to curry flavours without being too strong for young mouths.

Thanks Spring Tomorrow!

Published by

mr b cooks

I'm a stay at home dad who cooks for his family. I'm passionate about preparing healthy food, that is simple and quick to make. My blog aims to share some of these recipes and ideas with you!

2 thoughts on “Chicken with Spicy Tomato Sauce”

  1. Hi again Graham! I have nominated your blog for the Liebster Award and/or the One Lovely Blog Award which are ways for fellow bloggers to reach out to one another and discover new blogs too. Details can be found on my blog post: http://www.springtomorrow.com/2015/04/18/liebster-award-and-one-lovely-blog-award/

    There’s absolutely no obligation to participate but should you decide to go ahead with it, do give me a shout as I’m very interested to read your responses to my questions.

    Keep up the good work and I look forward to seeing more amazing posts from you.

    Cheers!
    Geri

    Like

Leave a Reply

